Non-trucking? School district, healthcare, SMB hiring? Visit our corporate background screening →
Vertical Identity
◆ Random program + driver files

Best DOT consortium that includes driver qualification files (2026)

Of the 9 providers we checked on October 14, 2026, most run the random pool and leave the driver qualification file to you, or sell it separately. Vertical Identity includes DQF Pro driver-file software in its published $85 a year membership. Here is how 9 providers handle driver files, what the random program plus driver files costs for 1, 5 and 10 drivers, and who runs the pre-hire checks.

Published by Vertical Identity · Facts as of October 14, 2026

Which DOT drug testing consortium includes driver qualification file (DQF) software?

Among the 9 providers we checked on October 14, 2026, Vertical Identity includes DQF software in its published consortium membership, with no add-on fee. Here is how each one handles driver files.

— The short answer, as of October 14, 2026
  • Vertical IdentityDQF Pro is included in the published membership ($85 a year for the first driver, $25 each additional, or $295 a year flat for unlimited drivers).
  • FleetCollectDQF file management is a paid add-on to its consortium, at published prices.
  • FoleyDriver qualification files are listed in its plans; no published price. PSP and CDLIS are add-ons; criminal background checks come with its Professional and Power plans.
  • Consortium Pool (New Era)DQF software is sold separately through New Era Titans; no published price.
  • National Drug ScreeningA policy and forms binder, not driver-file software.
  • DOT Compliance Group, APCA, goMDnow, ADTCNo DQF product found on their websites.

Published by Vertical Identity. Based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026, read on each provider's own website. Check each provider's site before you buy.

— The ranking

How do DOT consortiums rank on driver files, and what do the random program and driver files cost together?

Vertical Identity ranks first: driver files are included, the combined price is published ($85 for 1 driver, $185 for 5, $295 for 10 a year), it covers all 23 items on our list, and it runs the pre-hire checks itself. Among the others, FleetCollect publishes a combined price: $574 for 5 drivers and $916 for 10. Each row links to our full side-by-side comparison.

Published by Vertical Identity. We rank ourselves on the same stated criteria as everyone else, in this order:

  1. Driver files included in a published consortium price: included in the membership price you can see, then available as an add-on, sold separately or listed in a plan with no published price, then not found.
  2. Published price for the combined program: whether you can see what the random program plus driver files costs before you call.
  3. 23-item score: how many of the 23 driver-compliance items (49 CFR Parts 382 and 391, plus the recommended PSP, CDLIS and criminal background check) the provider includes or sells at a published price.
  4. Own screening company for pre-hire checks: whether the provider runs MVRs, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks itself. Remaining ties are listed alphabetically.
#ProviderDriver files (DQF)1 driver / year5 drivers / year10 drivers / year23-item scorePre-hire checksFull comparison
1 Vertical Identity — our pick IncludedDQF Pro is included in the published membership, no add-on fee $85 $185 $295Membership only (per-driver plan at 1 and 5 drivers, flat Fleet plan at 10); driver files included 23 / 23 Yes. Vertical Identity is also a background screening company and runs MVRs, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks itself Join →
2 FleetCollect Paid add-onDQF file management is an add-on to the consortium: $39/mo for 2–5 drivers, $59/mo for 6–10, $7/driver/mo above that $80–$262 $574 $916Consortium $200 / $350 + DQF add-on $374 / $566 a year (billed yearly). 1 driver: its FAQ lists a no-charge 1-driver plan, its pricing card a $182/yr Solo plan 16 / 23 Orders MVRs and background checks (its wording) through its Checkr partnership vs FleetCollect →
3 Consortium Pool (New Era) Sold separatelyDQF software sold separately through New Era Titans (a separate signup); no published price Not published Not published Not published 6 / 23 New Era Titans lists MVR, PSP, CDLIS and criminal checks. In-house or partner not stated vs Consortium Pool →
4 Foley In an unpriced planDriver Qualification files are listed in its Essential plan; no published price for any plan Not published Not published Not published 0 / 23offers most items, none with a published price Sells MVR; PSP and CDLIS are add-ons; criminal checks on Professional and Power plans. In-house or partner not stated vs Foley →
5 National Drug Screening Not foundNot found. Its bundles include a policy and forms binder, not driver-file software No DQF product found No DQF product found No DQF product found 11 / 23 None found vs National Drug Screening →
6 DOT Compliance Group Not foundNot found No DQF product found No DQF product found No DQF product found 9 / 23 None found vs DOT Compliance Group →
7 APCA Not foundNot found No DQF product found No DQF product found No DQF product found 7 / 23 None found vs APCA →
8 goMDnow Not foundNot found No DQF product found No DQF product found No DQF product found 7 / 23 Sells MVRs (no published price). In-house or partner not stated; PSP, CDLIS and criminal checks not found vs goMDnow →
9 ADTC Not foundNot found No DQF product found No DQF product found No DQF product found 4 / 23 None found vs ADTC →

Yearly cost = the consortium or membership fee plus the driver-file fee, from each provider's published price list; drug tests and screening reports are extra. "Not published" means the provider offers driver files but shows no price; "No DQF product found" means we found no driver-file software on its website. FleetCollect's DQF add-on is shown at its yearly-billing price. Vertical Identity prices are read from our price list each time this page is built. Based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026.

— 49 CFR 391.51

What should a driver file include?

Every motor carrier must keep a driver qualification file for each driver it employs, with the records listed in 49 CFR 391.51(b). Keep the file while the driver works for you and for three years after.

  • § 391.51(b)(1)Employment applicationThe driver’s application for employment, completed under § 391.21.
  • § 391.51(b)(2)Pre-hire motor vehicle record (MVR)The MVR from each state that licensed the driver in the past three years, under § 391.23(a)(1).
  • § 391.51(b)(3)Road test certificateThe certificate of road test (§ 391.31(e)), or the license or certificate you accepted as equivalent (§ 391.33).
  • § 391.51(b)(4)Annual MVRThe MVR from each licensing state for the annual driving-record inquiry under § 391.25(a).
  • § 391.51(b)(5)Annual review noteYour signed note of the annual review of the driver’s driving record, under § 391.25(c)(2).
  • § 391.51(b)(6)Medical certificationThe medical examiner’s certificate (§ 391.43(g)); for CDL holders, the CDLIS motor vehicle record showing medical certification status.
  • § 391.51(b)(7)SPE certificate or medical exemptionA Skill Performance Evaluation Certificate (§ 391.49) or a medical exemption document, when the driver has one.
  • § 391.51(b)(8)National Registry checkFor drivers who do not need a CDL, a note verifying the medical examiner is on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

Summarized from the eCFR text of 49 CFR 391.51, read October 14, 2026. DQF Pro organizes each driver's file to this checklist; MVRs (required) and the recommended PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks are ordered in the same portal. How DQF Pro works →

— Why one program

Why include driver files with the random program?

Because an audit looks at both. Of the 16 violations that automatically fail a new entrant safety audit under 49 CFR 385.321(b), 5 are drug and alcohol program failures and 5 are about using a driver who is not qualified to drive. The random program and the driver file are the records that show you got both right.

5 of 16

Drug & alcohol program

Not running a testing program or a random program, or using a driver who tested positive, refused a test or had an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or higher (§ 382.115, 382.201, 382.211, 382.215, 382.305).

5 of 16

Driver qualification

Using a driver without a valid CDL, with a disqualified CDL, who is disqualified, or who is physically unqualified (§ 383.3, 383.37(b), 383.51(a), 391.15(a), 391.11(b)(4)).

One portal

One set of records

With Vertical Identity, the random pool, Clearinghouse queries, MVRs, the medical card and each driver's DQF Pro file sit in one place, so the file you hand an auditor comes from one source.

— Common questions

Consortium and driver-file questions

Don't see yours? Call or text (602) 899-1606.
Hours: Mon–Fri 6 AM – 5 PM AZ
[email protected]

Which DOT drug testing consortium includes driver qualification file (DQF) software?
Among the 9 providers we checked on October 14, 2026, Vertical Identity includes driver qualification file software (DQF Pro) in its published consortium membership, with no add-on fee. FleetCollect sells DQF file management as a paid add-on to its consortium, at published prices. Foley lists driver qualification files in its plans but publishes no price; PSP and CDLIS are add-ons and criminal background checks come with its higher plans. Consortium Pool (New Era) sells DQF software separately through New Era Titans, with no published price. National Drug Screening's bundles include a policy and forms binder, not software. We found no DQF product on the DOT Compliance Group, APCA, goMDnow or ADTC websites. This comparison is published by Vertical Identity and based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026.
What does a DOT consortium plus driver files cost a year?
With Vertical Identity, the membership is the whole bill for both, because DQF Pro is included: $85 a year for 1 driver, $185 for 5 and $295 for 10 (the flat Fleet plan covers unlimited CDL drivers). Drug tests and screening reports are ordered when you need them, at published prices. At FleetCollect, its published consortium price plus its yearly DQF add-on comes to $574 for 5 drivers and $916 for 10. Foley and Consortium Pool do not publish a price for their driver-file option. Based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026.
Does the FMCSA require driver qualification file software?
The regulation requires the file, not any particular software. Under 49 CFR 391.51(a), each motor carrier must maintain a driver qualification file for each driver it employs. Software helps you keep every record current — the annual MVR and review, the medical certificate — and pull a complete file when an auditor asks.
How long do I have to keep a driver qualification file?
For as long as the driver works for you and three years after (49 CFR 391.51(c)). Some records — the annual MVR, the annual review note and the medical certificate — may be removed three years after the date they were made (49 CFR 391.51(d)).
Can I buy DQF Pro without joining the consortium?
Yes. DQF Pro on its own is $48 per driver a year, or $199 a year for unlimited drivers. If you also need a random testing program, the consortium membership (from $85 a year) includes DQF Pro at no added fee.
Can I order the pre-hire checks for the driver file in the same place?
Yes. Vertical Identity members order the MVR (required) and the recommended PSP report, CDLIS report and criminal background check in the same portal as the random program and DQF Pro. Vertical Identity is also a background screening company and runs these checks itself, with no screening partner.

Your random program and your driver files, one membership.

$85 a year for the first driver, $25 for each additional, or $295 a year flat for unlimited CDL drivers. DQF Pro driver files included, we're your C/TPA in the Clearinghouse at no charge, and MVRs, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks are ordered in the same portal. Join online: members.verticalidentity.com/enroll

Switch now · $85/year→ Call to sign up · (602) 899-1606→ Book a discovery call→
Call or text: (602) 899-1606 · Hours: Mon–Fri 6 AM – 5 PM AZ · [email protected]