Non-trucking? School district, healthcare, SMB hiring? Visit our corporate background screening →
Vertical Identity
◆ Ranked for 1–25 drivers

Best DQF software for owner-operators and small fleets (2026)

The best DQF software for a small carrier keeps every driver's file to the DOT checklist at a published price, orders the reports that go in the file, and works with your random testing program. We ranked 7 providers on those four points, with the math shown. Vertical Identity's DQF Pro is $48 per driver per year on its own, and it is included in our $85/year consortium membership.

Published by Vertical Identity · Facts as of October 14, 2026

— The short answer

On our four published criteria, the best DQF software for an owner-operator or small fleet is Vertical Identity's DQF Pro, with 13.90 of 14 points. DOTDriverFiles is second (8.24) and FleetCollect third (6.22).

DQF Pro alone is $48 per driver per year or $199 a year for unlimited drivers. It is included in the Vertical Identity membership, which also runs your DOT random testing program, and MVRs, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks are ordered in the same portal from our own screening company. Some competitors are cheaper in specific cases, and we list each one below.

— The ranking

Which DQF software ranks best for owner-operators and small fleets?

Vertical Identity ranks first with 13.90 of 14 points, followed by DOTDriverFiles (8.24) and FleetCollect (6.22). CDL Suite and Foley score 0 because neither publishes a price for its driver files. Each row links to our full side-by-side comparison where we have one.

Published by Vertical Identity. We rank ourselves on the same stated criteria as everyone else, and every competitor fact comes from that provider's own website. Based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026. A feature, report or program scores only when it is included in a plan with a published price, or sold at a published price.

  1. Published price (0–4): at 1, 5, 10 and 25 drivers, the lowest published yearly price among the ranked providers divided by this provider's price at that size (1.00 = lowest). No published price at a size scores 0.
  2. Driver-file features (0–4): one point each for a DOT checklist, expiration reminders, previous-employer requests and an auditor export.
  3. Reports in the same product (0–4): one point each for MVR, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background check, orderable at a published price.
  4. DOT random testing program (0–2): 2 if included, 1 if the same company sells it at a published price, 0 if not found or no price.
#ProviderTotal / 14Price / 4Features / 4Reports / 4Random program / 2Full comparison
1 Vertical Identity (DQF Pro) — our pick 13.90 3.901.00 + 0.90 + 1.00 + 1.00 4 4 2 Join →
2 DOTDriverFiles 8.24 2.240.96 + 0.72 + 0.40 + 0.16 4 2 0 vs DOTDriverFiles →
3 FleetCollect 6.22 1.220.26 + 0.48 + 0.35 + 0.12 4 0 1 vs FleetCollect →
4 Core Compliance 3.94 1.940.27 + 1.00 + 0.34 + 0.34 2 0 0 vs Core Compliance →
5 Roadworthy HQ 3.46 0.460.12 + 0.20 + 0.13 + 0.00 3 0 0 Source: roadworthyhq.com
6 CDL Suite 0.00 0.000.00 + 0.00 + 0.00 + 0.00 0 0 0 vs CDL Suite →
7 Foley 0.00 0.000.00 + 0.00 + 0.00 + 0.00 0 0 0 vs Foley →

Price points are shown per fleet size (1, 5, 10, 25 drivers). Our row is scored on DQF Pro alone, the lower-priced way to buy it. Scored on the membership price instead (random program included), Vertical Identity's total would be 13.56, still first. Ties are listed alphabetically.

— Criterion 1 · published price

How much does DQF software cost at 1, 5, 10 and 25 drivers?

For one driver, published prices run from $48 to $390 a year; for 10 drivers, from $199 to $1,490. Yearly cost of the driver-file software, with the per-driver figure underneath. Reports and tests are extra everywhere.

Provider1 driver / year5 drivers / year10 drivers / year25 drivers / yearHow the price is published
Vertical Identity (DQF Pro) $48$48 per driver$199$39.80 per driver$199$19.90 per driver$199$7.96 per driver DQF Pro alone: $48 per driver per year, or $199 a year unlimited. Included in the membership at no add-on fee.
DOTDriverFiles $50$50 per driver$250$50 per driver$500$50 per driver$1,250$50 per driver Pro: $50 per driver per year billed annually ($5 per driver per month). Free plan: $0, pay per report, no full driver file.
FleetCollect $182$182 per driver$374$74.80 per driver$566$56.60 per driver$1,675$67 per driver Yearly: $182 Solo (1 driver), $374 (2–5), $566 (6–10), $67 per driver (11+). Its FAQ also lists a free plan for 1 driver.
Core Compliance $180$180 per driver$180$36 per driver$588$58.80 per driver$588$23.52 per driver 12 × monthly: $15/mo up to 5 drivers, $49/mo up to 25, $149/mo up to 100, Enterprise from $349/mo. No annual price published.
Roadworthy HQ $390$390 per driver$890$178 per driver$1,490$149 per driverNo published price $390/year (1 driver), $890 (2–5), $1,490 (6–10). Above 10 drivers: "Email us".
CDL Suite No published priceNo published priceNo published priceNo published price Plans "starting at" $199.95/month; its driver-file add-on "can be added to any plan level" with no published price.
Foley No published priceNo published priceNo published priceNo published price Essential / Professional / Power plans; no dollar amount on its pricing page.

Vertical Identity prices are read from our price list each time this page is built. With the random testing program, the membership is $85 at 1 driver, $185 at 5 drivers, $295 at 10 drivers, $295 at 25 drivers, DQF Pro included. Core Compliance publishes monthly prices only, so its year is 12 × the monthly price. FleetCollect's 1-driver figure is its pricing card; its FAQ lists a free plan for 1 driver. Based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026.

— Criteria 2, 3 and 4

Which DQF software orders the reports and runs the random program?

Among the 7 providers we ranked, Vertical Identity is the one that orders MVR, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks at published prices from its own screening company and includes a random testing program. DOTDriverFiles sells MVRs and PSP; FleetCollect orders through a partner and sells its consortium separately; the others track documents you upload.

ProviderChecklistRemindersPrev. employerAuditor exportWhat we foundMVR · PSP · CDLIS · CriminalWho runs the reportsRandom testing program
Vertical Identity (DQF Pro) ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Organized to the DOT checklist; reminders before anything expires; previous-employer requests sent and followed up; auditor export and access log ✓ · ✓ · ✓ · ✓ Our own screening company (verticalid.com). Member rates: MVR from $14.25 by state, PSP $20, CDLIS $10, criminal background check $39 Included in the membership with DQF Pro: $85/year first driver, $25 each additional, or $295/year unlimited
DOTDriverFiles ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Complete DQF per active driver, email and SMS expiration alerts, previous-employer verification, one-click audit-ready download ✓ · ✓ · — · — MVR from $12.95, PSP $19.99; provider not named. "Background checks in 3 clicks" listed, type and price not stated Not found
FleetCollect ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ DQF checklist, 90-60-30 day alerts, employment verification, one-click audit export — · — · — · — MVRs and background screening through its Checkr partnership; no report prices published. PSP and CDLIS not found Separate consortium fee: $80/year first driver, $30 each for drivers 2–25
Core Compliance ✓ ✓ — — 14 FMCSA document types with expiration alerts; previous-employer inquiry is a document you upload; audit export not found — · — · — · — Upload only: you order elsewhere and add the document; its FAQ says integrations are on its roadmap Not found
Roadworthy HQ ✓ ✓ — ✓ Driver qualification file (§391.51), 30+ rule-driven alerts, audit binder export; previous-employer requests not found. Also covers vehicle records — · — · — · — Tracking only ("MVR records management"); ordering reports not found Not found (a random pool calculator and §382 program tracking only)
CDL Suite — — — — Digital driver files, expiration alerts and employment verification listed, in a driver-file add-on with no published price — · — · — · — "MVRs and background screening" listed, "background screening integration" add-on; no prices, provider not named Not found
Foley — — — — Driver files, alerts, previous-employer safety history and audit export offered, none with a published price — · — · — · — MVR in Essential; PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks in higher plans or as add-ons; no published prices, provider not stated In its Essential plan, no published price

✓ = included in a plan with a published price, or sold at a published price. — = not found, or offered with no published price (see "What we found"). MVRs are required in the driver file; PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks are recommended, not required. Roadworthy HQ and DOTDriverFiles Pro+ also cover vehicle records, which this ranking does not score. Based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026.

— Where others are lower

When is another DQF software cheaper than Vertical Identity?

In 5 cases we found on October 14, 2026, another provider's published price is lower than ours. Here they are, computed from the same numbers as the tables above.

  • Core Compliance is lower than DQF Pro alone at 4 and 5 drivers: its Tiny plan is $180 a year (12 × $15/mo) for up to 5 drivers. It tracks documents you upload; we found no report ordering or random program on its site.
  • Core Compliance per driver: with all 100 slots of its Professional plan filled, it works out to $17.88 per driver per year, below our $48 per-driver rate. In total, that plan is $1,788 a year, and DQF Pro unlimited is $199.
  • DOTDriverFiles Free is $0 a year with pay-per-report MVR and PSP orders, an online application and previous-employer verification. A complete driver file for active drivers is in its Pro plan ($50 per driver per year).
  • DOTDriverFiles reports: its MVR starts at $12.95 (our member rate starts at $14.25) and its PSP is $19.99 (ours is $20).
  • FleetCollect, one driver: its FAQ lists a free DQF plan for 1 driver; with its $80 consortium that is $80 a year, $5 less than our $85 membership. Its pricing card shows a Solo plan at $182 a year instead ($262 with the consortium).
— Not ranked

Which DQF software providers publish no price?

J. J. Keller and Tenstreet sell driver file management by quote only, so we cannot score them on price and did not rank them.

J. J. Keller

Driver qualification file management service: "Contact us for a customized quote based on your operation." Driver screening is ordered through its partnership with Accurate®. Source: jjkeller.com, October 14, 2026.

Tenstreet

Its pricing page says the price depends on the products and services used and the size of your fleet; no dollar amounts are published. Screening runs through integrations with several screening companies. Source: tenstreet.com/pricing, October 14, 2026.

— Common questions

DQF software questions

Don't see yours? Call or text (602) 899-1606.
Hours: Mon–Fri 6 AM – 5 PM AZ
[email protected]

What is the best DQF software for an owner-operator?
On the four criteria we publish, Vertical Identity's DQF Pro ranks first (13.90 of 14 points). For one driver, DQF Pro alone is $48 a year, compared with $50 for DOTDriverFiles Pro, $180 for Core Compliance (12 × $15/mo), $182 for FleetCollect Solo and $390 for Roadworthy HQ Solo. An owner-operator also needs a DOT random testing program, and the Vertical Identity membership ($85 a year) includes DQF Pro with it, plus MVR, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background check ordering from our own screening company. Where others are lower: FleetCollect's FAQ lists a free DQF plan for 1 driver (its pricing card shows $182 a year), and DOTDriverFiles has a free plan without a full driver file. This ranking is published by Vertical Identity, based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026.
How much does DQF software cost?
Among the providers we checked on October 14, 2026 that publish a price, driver file software for one driver runs from $48 a year (Vertical Identity) to $390 (Roadworthy HQ), and for 10 drivers from $199 (Vertical Identity) to $1,490 (Roadworthy HQ). Vertical Identity's DQF Pro alone is $48 per driver per year or $199 a year unlimited, and it is included in the consortium membership at no add-on fee. CDL Suite starts at $199.95 a month with its driver-file add-on priced separately; Foley, J. J. Keller and Tenstreet publish no price.
Does DQF software include a random testing program?
Usually not. Among the 7 providers we ranked on October 14, 2026, Vertical Identity includes DQF Pro in its random testing consortium membership ($85 a year first driver, $25 each additional, $295 a year unlimited). FleetCollect sells its consortium as a separate fee ($80 a year first driver, $30 each for drivers 2 to 25). Foley lists a DOT drug and alcohol program in its Essential plan with no published price. We found no random program at DOTDriverFiles, Core Compliance, Roadworthy HQ (a random pool calculator only) or CDL Suite.
Can I order MVRs inside DQF software?
With some of them. Vertical Identity is also a background screening company, so MVRs (member rate from $14.25 by state), PSP ($20), CDLIS ($10) and criminal background checks ($39) are run by our own screening company and filed in the driver's DQF. MVRs are required; PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks are recommended, not required. DOTDriverFiles sells MVRs from $12.95 and PSP at $19.99 without naming its provider. FleetCollect orders through its Checkr partnership with no report prices published. CDL Suite lists MVRs and background screening, Foley includes MVRs in its plans, and J. J. Keller orders through Accurate, all without published prices. Core Compliance and Roadworthy HQ keep MVR records; we found no report ordering on either site. Based on publicly available information as of October 14, 2026.

Driver files and your random program, one portal.

$85 a year for the first driver, $25 for each additional or $295 a year unlimited, DQF Pro included. MVRs, PSP, CDLIS and criminal background checks run by our own screening company. Only need the software? DQF Pro alone is $48 per driver per year.

Switch now · $85/year→ 📞 Call to sign up · (602) 899-1606→ Book a discovery call→
Call or text: (602) 899-1606 · Hours: Mon–Fri 6 AM – 5 PM AZ · members.verticalidentity.com/enroll